Slideshow ini membutuhkan JavaScript.

Let’s Go Archipelago

The name Indonesia has its roots in two Greek words: “Indos” meaning Indian and “Nesos” which means islands. It is an appropriate description of the archipelago as there are estimated to be a total of 17,508 islands, of which only about 6,000 are inhabited, stretching for 5,150 km between the Australian and Asian continental mainlands and dividing the Pacific and Indian Oceans at the Equator.

Five main islands and 30 smaller archipelagoes are home to the majority of the population. The main islands are Sumatra (473,6O6, Kalimantan 1539,400, Sulawesi l 189,216 sq. km), Papua (421,981 sq. km), and last but not leastJava (132,187, home to 70 percent of the country’s population. Indonesia shares Papua with Papua New Guinea and two thirds of the island of Kalimantan with Malaysia and Borneo.

The islands and people of Indonesia constitute the fourth most populated nation in the world. As a democratic republic, Indonesia is divided into 32 provinces, special territories and classified geographically into four groups.

First are the Greater Sundas, made up of the larger islands of Sumatra, Java, Kalimantan and Sulawesi.

Second are the Lesser Sundas, consisting of smaller islands from Bali eastward to Timor. Third is Maluku which includes all the islands between Papua and Sulawesi. The fourth and final group is Papua in the extreme eastern part of the country.

No Province Capital
1 Nangroe Aceh Darussalam Banda Aceh
2 North Sumatera Medan
3 West Sumatera Padang
4 Riau Pekan Baru
5 Jambi Jambi
6 Riau Islands Tanjung Pinang
7 Bengkulu Bengkulu
8 South Sumatera Palembang
9 Bangka-Belitung Islands Pangkal Pinang
10 Lampung Bandar Lampung
11 Jakarta Jakarta
12 Banten Serang
13 West Java Bandung
14 Yogyakarta Yogyakarta
15 Central Java Semarang
16 East Java Surabaya
17 West Kalimantan Pontianak
18 Central Kalimatan Palangkaraya
19 South Kalimantan Banjarmasin
20 East Kalimantan Samarinda
21 North Sulawesi Manado
22 Gorontalo Gorontalo
23 Central Sulawesi Palu
24 West Sulawesi Mamuju
25 South Sulawesi Makasar
26 Southeast Sulawesi Kendari
27 Bali Denpasar
28 West Nusa Tenggara Mataram
29 East Nusa Tenggara Kupang
30 North Maluku Ternate
31 Maluku Ambon
32 West Papua Manokwari
33 Papua Jayapura
34 North Kalimantan Tanjung Selor

Cari Hotel Murah ? Diskon hingga 70%